Marion County Community Foundation is led by a Board of Directors, which was selected to represent residents in all areas of Marion County. All directors have been involved in a variety of organizations that include members from more than one area of the county.

This helps promote the Marion County Community Foundation throughout the county and ensures that grants are properly focused on areas of greatest opportunity and assist as many people throughout the county as possible.

Entire County Represented

Board of Directors


Executive Secretary Denise Hollingshead can be reached at 641.828.7373 or

Name Home Area Represented Email
Ron Danks Pleasantville Northwest
Jim Dunkin Bussey Southeast
Lynn Hinga-Branderhorst Pella Northeast
Jacob Hughes Knoxville At Large
Dale Miller Knoxville Central
Curt Schwanebeck Knoxville Central
Jeremy Smith Knoxville At Large
Jonith Van Waardhuizen Melcher-Dallas Southwest
Denise Hollingshead Executive Secretary


Ron Danks

Ron Danks is a graduate of Central College and has been an attorney in Pleasantville since 1994 where he has worked extensively in civil litigation, real estate law, and probate. He is a member of the Pleasantville Community School Board, a volunteer Little League coach, and a trustee of the Webb Shadle Memorial Fund. He has served as president of St. Anthony’s Parish Council in Knoxville. Ron represents the Northwest area.

Jim Dunkin

Jim Dunkin retired in 2008 from the Army Corps of Engineers at Lake Red Rock after 26 years of service. Jim and his wife Lana have always lived in the Twin Cedars school district where he has been very active in TC athletics, having coached 28 seasons of both boys and girls sports. Jim is a Vietnam era veteran of the Army, has served on the Marion County Development Commission, and has been very active with the Twin Cedars Athletic Boosters.

Lynn Hinga-Branderhorst

Currently I am Co-owner of Nicks Greenhouse and Flower Shop and the Executive Director of the Historic Pella Trust.  I grew up in Pella, Iowa and graduated from Pella Community High School and later received a BA from Central College.

Most of my working career has been spent in the Not-For-Profit world.  I have served as Executive Director for Neighbor To Neighbor Ministries and Hope Faith Ministries both located in Kansas City, Missouri; Program Manager at the Christian Opportunity Center in Pella, Iowa; and I am currently serving as Executive Director of the Historic Pella Trust.

I am honored to be  a new board member for such an admirable organization as  Marion County Community Foundation.

Jake Hughes

Jake Hughes is an attorney at the Johnson & Lane Law Firm in Knoxville, Iowa. He was raised in Newton and currently lives and works in Knoxville where he is President of the Chamber of Commerce, on the board of directors for the Heritage Community Foundation and coaches the Junior and Senior High Mock Trial Teams.

Dale Miller

Dale Miller is Marion County Extension Director for ISU Extension and Outreach. He developed the county-wide Leadership Red Rock education program. He is past president of the ISU Council of Extension Professionals. He is a horse show judge and coached and officiated youth basketball. Dale is a charter member of the Knoxville Noon Kiwanis Club and treasurer of Marion County Mutual Insurance Association.

Curt Schwanebeck

I moved to Knoxville in 1960, and enjoyed growing up in Knoxville.  I started working at the Grand Theater at an early age. I was married in 1974 and raised three wonderful children. Since retiring from 3M, I have been involved in many volunteer activities. Most recently, I was instrumental in the reopening of the Grand Theater. I attend Trinity Lutheran Church and have been the high school Sunday School teacher and Youth Group leader for 25 years.

Jeremy Smith

Jonith Van Waardhuizen